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Board Policy #1

In the September 15, 1998 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to
adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the Board revisited
this policy and made amendments.

Guidelines for Administratively Approving Initial Applications

Applications will be approved administratively once all criteria as outlined in the law and
Board rules have been met. The administrative processing of licenses means that the Board
staff has reviewed the documents and approved licensure based upon the laws, rules and
board policies that pertain to that specific type of licensure. License reinstatements will be
administratively processed in compliance with the Board’s current
Reinstatement/Reactivation Policy. The Board will review any applicant with an affirmative
answer to the conviction or Board sanction questions. Administratively issued licenses are
considered for a vote to ratify at the next regularly scheduled board meeting.



Board Policy #2

In the September 15, 1998 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the
Board revisited this policy and made amendments.

Guidelines for Summoning People to Investigative Interview s

1. The Board secretary is to record the vote at the Board meeting for an
investigative interview.

2. The Board secretary is to work with the Cognizant Board Member and GDNA to
establish a date and time for each investigative interview.

3. The Board secretary shall reserve a meeting room for the investigative interview.

4. The Board secretary will notify each person scheduled, of the place, date and time
for their investigative interview, allowing the persons scheduled ten (10) days after
receipt of the letter of notification to notify the Board of whether or not he he/she
will attend the interview. This notification will be sent via certified mail along with a
signed return receipt to be sent back by the persons scheduled.

One week prior to the scheduled investigative interviews, the Board secretary shall notify the
Cognizant Board Member, the GDNA and the Board’s attorney of those persons
scheduled to attend, those who will not attend and/or those who have not responded to the
Board’s notification letter.



Board Policy #3A

Guidelines for Reinstatement/Reactivation of Pharmacists’ Licenses
who have NOT been activelypracticing pharmacyfor the past four (4)
years or longer.

(This pertains to a pharmacist whose license is on “Inactive”status or administratively lapsed
due to non-renewal, voluntarily suspended for disciplinary reasons.) The applicant must
complete the following:

1. All applicants must submit the completed application to the Board’s office for
reinstatement/reactivation.

2. Re-take and achieve a passing score on the Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE).

3. Complete and submit proof of 30 hours of Pharmaceutical Continuing Education.

4. Pay all back renewal and/or penalty fees.

Once the above conditions have been met, the Board staff will forward the file to the Attorney
General’s office for issuance of a consent order requiring:

1. Applicants who have been out of practice between four (4) or more years will be
required to work under direct supervision in an “intern-like” setting as follows:

4 years — 1000 hours 10 years — 1600 hours
5 years — 1100 hours 11 years — 1700 hours
6 years — 1200 hours 12 years — 1800 hours
7 years — 1300 hours 13 years — 1900 hours
8 years — 1400 hours 14 or more years — 2000 hours

9 years — 1500 hours

When working in this “intern-like” setting, an applicant can work a minimum of twenty (20) hours
and maximum of fifty (50) hours per week. At the completion of this practice, the supervisor
must provide an affidavit attesting to the applicant’s level of competency.

2. Once the hours are completed, all applicants must take and pass the Georgia practical
examination.

3. Applicants may choose to complete 1000 hours in an “intern-like” setting and retake and
pass the NAPLEX in lieu of working the total number of hours required above.

In its discretion, the Board may require one or all of the following: Applicants who have been
out of practice for over ten (10) years may be required to re-take and achieve a passing score
on the NAPLEX.
1. Submit further evidence of competency or stipulations as may be determined by the
Board.
2. Inclusion in the CE audit pool for the upcoming renewal cycle.
3. Board may request to meet with licensee prior to the license being reinstated.



Board Policy #3B

Guidelines for Reinstatement/Reactivation of Pharmacists’ Licenses
who HAVE been activelypracticing pharmacyduring the past four (4)

years.

(This could pertain to a pharmacist whose license is on “Inactive” status, or a
pharmacist whose license was administratively lapsed due to non-renewal, voluntarily
surrendered or suspended for disciplinary reasons.)

1.

2.
3.

4.

5.

All applicants must submit a written request to the Board’s office for
reinstatement/reactivation.

Pay all back renewal and/or penalty fees.

Complete and submit proof of 30 hours of Pharmaceutical Continuing Education
obtained during the past two (2) years.

Submit a Curriculum Vitae (CV) indicating past work activities going back to date
of expiration.

If licensed in another state, have verification of licensure forwarded to the
Georgia Board of Pharmacy’s office.

If the license was administratively lapsed due to non-renewal, the Board, in its
discretion may also require one or all of the following:

1.
2.

Inclusion in the CE audit pool for the upcoming renewal cycle.
Board may request to meet with licensee prior to the license being reinstated.



Board Policy #4

In the November 17-18, 1998 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted
to adopt the following as Board Policy. In the February 12, 2008 Board Meeting, the Board
revisited this Policy and amended as needed.

Guidelines for Reinstatement of Pharmacists’ Licenses that have been

AdministrativelyLapsed for Failure to Renew.
It is the Board’s Policy that licenses that have been Administratively Lapsed due to
nonrenewal shall be reinstated to include the following stipulations:

1. Pay a reinstatement fee plus a renewal fee for each licensing renewal period that
the pharmacist did not renew his/her license. Current fees may be found on the
approved fee schedule.

Complete and submit proof of 30 Hours of Pharmaceutical Continuing Education.
Automatic Inclusion in the continuing education audit pool in the following biennium.
Board may request to meet with licensee prior to license being renewed.

Must also follow requirements in Policy 3(A) if applicant has not been actively
practicing pharmacy for the past four (4) years or longer.

IR



Board Policy #5

In the October 22-23, 1997 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the Board
revisited this Policy and made no amendments.

Guidelines to Ensure Safe Pharmacy Practice

Purpose: The Georgia State Board of Pharmacy has developed these guidelines to
ensure the protection of the health, safety and welfare of Georgia’s citizens as related to
the scope and quality of Pharmacy Care and Services provided by the licensed
Pharmacies and Pharmacists under the Board’s jurisdiction.

General Guidelines: The following guidelines constitute what the Board feels is
necessary to ensure Safe Pharmacy Practice:

e Each individual workplace should be designed to provide adequate space and
workflow design that will accommodate the workplace in an organized fashion.

e Computers and other automated equipment should be of a design that drug
interactions and contraindications MUST BE REVIEWED BY THE
PHARMACIST. Further, the computer system should be of a design to support
counseling, DUR documentation and other safeguards to meet legal and
regulatory requirements. Adequately trained or experienced professional and
supportive staff levels should be maintained to meet the demands of the practice
site, workload and clientele served. It should be noted that both the number and
the training or experience level of all staff are important. Other factors that could
increase staffing levels include demand for OT C recommendations by
customers, telephone interruptions,
patient teaching and demands of managed care organizations and other third
party programs.

e Staff should have the opportunity to take periodic “breaks” and/or meal periods to
relieve fatigue and mental and physical stress. Staff should also have opportunities
for training and education to keep them abreast of new information and changes in
the field.

e Workload quotas or formulas such as strictly using the number of prescriptions or
orders processed to set staffing patterns must include other considerations such
as peak workload periods, workplace design, training of staff on duty, etc. to
adequately meet the needs of the public.

Discussion: Ensuring that practicing pharmacists and pharmacies serving the public are
providing accurately filled prescriptions, accurate and timely information for the use of the
prescriptions filled and that the desired outcome of the therapy is achieved is the essence of
Pharmacy Care. In today's competitive marketplace, the issues related to achieving this
should provide the opportunity to succeed.

Institution of quotas and/or additional regulations would be difficult and hard to enforce but
might be required. Liability, responsibility and sanctions must be shared equitably by the
owner or management of the pharmacy and the individual practitioner. In addition to the



above guidelines, the Board officers below, indicators that workload is too great for the staff
or the Safe Pharmacy Practice Guidelines are not being followed and disciplinary action may
be in order.

Indicators:
¢ An inordinate number of filling errors occur
e Patients are not properly counseled
e Patient or customer complaints
e Continuing pharmacist complaints related to working conditions
e Failure to comply with patient counseling or other rules and regulations
e Inadequate supervision and training of supportive personnel



Board Policy #6

In the January 26-27, 1999 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to
adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the Board revisited
this policy and made an amendment.

Guideline for Mailing Renewal Forms
1. ALL license renewals will be mailed at least ninety (90) days prior to expiration.
This shall apply to all pharmacy and pharmacist renewals.



Board Policy #7

In the September 27-28, 2000 Board Meeting, the Board voted to develop a policy
pertaining to Electronic Drug Orders. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the Board
revisited this policy and made amendments. Pursuant to O.C.G.A. 826-4-80(i), the Georgia
State Board of Pharmacy (Board) makes the following policy statement:

ELECTRONIC DRUG ORDERS
e Computer or electronically generated prescriptions must bear the original signature
of the issuing practitioner. It is legal for the body of the prescription drug order to be
generated electronically, however, to be considered valid and legal, the practitioner
must manually sign, in indelible ink, said drug order.

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. 826-4-80(c), the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy (Board)
makes the following policy statement:

FACSIMILE PRESCRIPTION DRUG ORDERS
e Itisvalid and legal for a pharmacy to accept a prescription drug order, which is
transmitted via facsimile, as long as the drug order has been sent by the practitioner
or the practitioner’s agent under the supervision of the practitioner. Prescription drug
orders must be sent directly from the practitioner to the pharmacy without anyone
intercepting the order as transmitted by the practitioner.

Drug orders submitted via facsimile shall include the following:

Complete name and address of the practitioner;

If for a controlled substance, the DEA registration number of the practitioner;
The telephone number of the practitioner for verbal confirmation;

Complete name and address of the patient;

Time and date of the transmission;

The full name of the person transmitting the order.

Nothing in the Georgia Code prohibits an electronically/computer generated drug order from
being transmitted via facsimile as long as the drug order bears the original
signature of the practitioner.
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Board Policy #8

In the November 17-18, 1998 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted
to adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the Board
revisited this Policy and amended as needed.

Guidelines for C.E. Audits: Non-Compliance
If a pharmacist is randomly selected for a Continuing Education Audit and does not provide
proof of the required 30 hours of C.E. for the biennium, the pharmacist will need to comply
with the following in order to late renew or reinstate the license:
1. The pharmacist must obtain two (2) C.E. credit hours for every one (1) C.E. credit
hour he/she is deficient.
2. The pharmacist may be fined $50.00 per deficient hour, not to exceed a maximum of
$500.00.
3. A public reprimand that will become a permanent document in the licensee’s record
may be issued to the pharmacist.

The pharmacist may not use the additional required hours in the present or next biennium.
The hours are to comply with the past renewal biennium and may not be counted again.
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Board Policy #9

In the July 22-23, 2002 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted
to adopt the following as Board Policy. In the May 13, 2003 Board Meeting, the
Board revisited this Policy and amended as needed.

No-Show Policy
Anyone who does not appear before the Board for his or her scheduled appointment without
a valid reason, upon reapplying, will have a six (6) month waiting period.
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Board Policy #10

In the September 17, 2003 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to
adopt the following as Board Policy.

P.B.M. Exemption Policy
Pharmacy Benefit Managers (P.B.M.’s) are exempt from questions 5-8 on the application.
These questions are considered exemptions as follows:

5. Do you have a Class A Balance and other equipment as provided for under
“Minimum Equipment for Prescription Department”, Chapter 480-10-.12 of the
Rules and Regulations?

Does the store keep an exempt narcotic register?
Are narcotics stored or locked in a secure place? Mixed with stock?
Does the store keep a poison register?

®~No
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Board Policy #11

In the October 12, 2011 Board Meeting, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to
adopt the following as Board Policy.

Specialty Pharmacy Accreditation Recognition

Pursuant to the authority delegated to the Board in O.C.G.A. 8§ 26-4-28(a)(21), and acting
as the sole governmental or other authority with the authority to (1) approve or recognize
accreditation programs for specialty pharmacy practice, and (2) determine the acceptability
of entities which may accredit pharmacies or certify pharmacists in a specialty of pharmacy
practice in the State of Georgia, the Board approves and recognizes the URAC Specialty
Pharmacy Accreditation Standards, Version 2.0, July 2010 (“URAC Accreditation”) as an
accreditation program for specialty pharmacy practice.

This policy does not require pharmacists or pharmacies to obtain URAC Accreditation
as a prerequisite to specialty or advance pharmacy practice.

At its meeting on November 18, 2015, the Georgia Board of Pharmacy voted to recognize
ACHC (Accreditation Commission for Healthcare) as an accreditation agency.
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Board Policy #12

At its meeting October 22, 2014, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to adopt the
following as Board Policy.

LABELING OF PRESCRIPTION
DRUGS

In response to humerous inquiries about the proper labeling of prescriptions drugs, the Georgia
State Board of Pharmacy has examined the issue in light of state law. O.C.G.A. Section 26-4-80(k)
expressly provides:

All out-patient prescription drug orders which are dispensed shall be appropriately labeled in
accordance with the rules and regulations promulgated by the board as follows:

(1) Before an out-patient prescription drug is released from the dispensing area, the prescription
drug shall bear a label containing the name and address of the pharmacy, a prescription number,
the name of the prescriber, the name of the patient, directions for taking the medication, the date of
the filling or refilling of the prescription, the initials or identifying code of the dispensing pharmacist,
and any other information which is necessary, required, or, in the pharmacist's professional
judgment, appropriate; and

(2) The pharmacist who fills an out-patient prescription drug order shall indicate the identity of the
dispensing pharmacist on the label of the prescription drug. Identification may be made by placing
initials on the label of the dispensed drug. The label shall be affixed to the outside of the container
of the dispensed drug by means of adhesive or tape or any other means which will assure that the
label remains attached to the container.

Board Rule 480-27-.05 is consistent with this rule in regards to recordkeeping.

However, it appears that O.C.G.A. Section 16-13-73 currently requires that whenever a pharmacist
dispenses a dangerous drug, the pharmacist shall place a label upon each container that has the
name of the “physician” prescribing the drug. Since persons other than physicians are authorized
to prescribe dangerous drugs under Georgia law, see, e.g., O.C.G.A. Section 16-13-78.1 and 16-
13-70.1, the Board plans to ask the General Assembly to pass legislation during the 2015 Session
to make Code section 16-13-72 consistent with the other statutory provisions and to eliminate any
confusion in this area.

Until such time as the law can be changed, the Board will consider compliance with O.C.G.A. Section

26-4-80(k) and its rules regarding labeling to be compliance with the laws and rules for purposes of
any disciplinary action. That means that pharmacists may use the name of the prescribing or
ordering practitioner on the label. A practitioner is a physician, dentist, podiatrist, physician’s
assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or other person licensed, registered, or otherwise
authorized under the laws of this state to prescribe or order dangerous drugs or controlled
substances.
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Board Policy #13

** This policy applies ONLY to Opioid Treatment Program (“OTP”) Clinic Pharmacies.
In no way should any portion of this policy be construed to apply to any other type of
pharmacy permit issued by the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy (“Board”). **

The Director of Pharmacy Services of an OTP clinic pharmacy shall provide each patient with
a pre-printed agent authorization form or document. By signing this document, each patient
will be able to authorize one or more licensed health care professional who is/are employed
by the OTP to be his or her authorized agent. A patient must sign and date a separate
document naming each licensed health care profession the patient authorizes to be his or her
agent. A patient can only authorize a health care professional who is authorized by state law
to administer medication.

The take-home medication must have been previously prepared at the OTP by a
pharmacist. The take-home medications for each patient must be labeled in accordance
with all federal and state laws and regulations. Each patient’s set of take-home medications
must be maintained together in a package bearing the name of and other necessary
information required to identify the patient.

The OTP Director of Pharmacy must maintain a set of Policy and Procedures describing
the procedure by which patients authorize an agent to deliver their take-home
medications to them, and describing how patients obtain their take-home medications
from their agent. This procedure must include at a minimum, but is not limited to:
- Details on how a patient’s take-home medications are transferred from the pharmacist
to the patient’s authorized agent,
- How a patient authorizes their agents by use of an agent designation form
- How each authorized agent receives training from the pharmacist on
receiving and delivering take-home medications to patients.
- The names of all persons who are authorized to access the safe containing
take-home medications,
- What action is to be taken when a change is made in patient’s take-home medications,
- The record keeping involved in all phases of this procedure, and
- How the take-home medications are delivered to the patient.

Once each patient’s container of take-home medications has been transferred from the
pharmacist to a patient’s authorized agent, the container cannot be stored in the pharmacy
area safe. The patient’s authorized agent must secure each patient’s container of take-
home medications in a safe located outside of the pharmacy area. All safes and security
systems in use to store a patient’s take-home medications must meet the minimum
requirements set forth in U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and U.S. Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) rules and laws.
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The OTP Director of Pharmacy shall maintain a signed log and record detailing the quantity
of the take-home medication prepared and dispensed for each patient, the signature of the
patient’s authorized agent who received the take-home medication, and the signature of the
patient when his/her medication was received from the authorized agent.

A patient’s authorized agent may act as such only while on the property of the specific OTP
where the patient receives his/her medication. A patient’s authorized agent can only
deliver take-home medications from the specific OTP where the patient receives his/her
medication. The patient’s authorized agent my not leave the OTP premises with any
patient’s take-home medication, nor shall a patient’s take-home medication be delivered to
the patient in any manner except that authorized by DEA and SAMHSA rules and laws.

This policy is subject to any and all federal and state laws, rules and guidelines which
address the delivery of take-home medications at an OTP licensed and operated in the
State of Georgia.

October 2009
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Agent Designation Form for Delivery of Take Home Doses

I, , a patient at the

Opioid Treatment Program Clinic (OTPC), do hereby designate

, LPN/RN, GA License Number:

a nurse licensed by the State of Georgia and employed at and by this treatment clinic as
my agent to receive from the clinic pharmacist any and all of my prescribed OTPC take-
home medication doses and maintained at this OTPC. In turn, my agent will personally
deliver all such take-home doses to me only at this OTPC clinic. It is my understanding
that before the delivery of such doses, each one will have been previously prepared by
the pharmacist and placed in a container displaying a prescription label with my name
and all of the other requirements of Pharmacy Board Rule 480-18-.06 and the rules and
laws of SAMHSA and the DEA. I understand that a copy of this designation will be
maintained by the OTPC pharmacy as part of my patient record, and it shall remain in
effect until such time as I revoke it, or it is revoked by the OTPC pharmacy or the OTPC
clinic.

Patient Signature: Date:

(Printed Name of Patient: )

Agent Signature: Date:

(Printed Name of Agent: )

Signature of Pharmacist: Date:

(Printed Name of Pharmacist: )
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Board Policy #14

At its meeting May 10, 2017, the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy voted to adopt the
following as Board Policy.

Guidelines for a Change in Ownership or Change in Location

If a change of ownership or change in location is submitted during the period in which the
same facilities are in renewal (push-period), the status shall go into Active-Renewal Pending
status until the application is complete. In these instances, where a change of ownership or
change in location application fee is submitted, it will not be necessary for the entity to pay
the renewal fee.
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